Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

​Flying Lotus announces new album 'Flamagra' on Warp

Watch the music video for Flying Lotus' new track 'Fire Is Coming' feat. David Lynch

  • Cameron Holbrook
  • 17 April 2019
​Flying Lotus announces new album 'Flamagra' on Warp

We've heard rumors of a new Flying Lotus album for some time now. On his 35th birthday back in October of 2018, the LA beat scene pioneer posted a handwritten note to Instagram which ended with the words - "P.S. Album being mastered tomorrow". During SXSW of this year, the producer's name was spotted spray-painted on the sidewalks of Austin, along with the phrase "Fire is coming...". Now that the flames have been fully stoked, we are finally getting a new Flying Lotus album.

His forthcoming 27-track LP 'Flamagra' will arrive on May 24 via Warp Records. The album features a squadron of superstars which includes George Clinton, Little Dragon, Anderson .Paak, David Lynch, Tierra Whack, Denzel Curry, Shabazz Palaces, Thundercat, Toro y Moi, Solange and more.

Described as "an astral afro-futurist masterpiece of deep soul, cosmic dust and startling originality", this is the first full-length album we've seen from Flying Lotus since the release of his Grammy-nominated LP 'You're Dead' back in 2014.

“I’d been working on stuff for the past five years, but it was always all over the place. I’d always had this thematic idea in mind—a lingering concept about fire, an eternal flame sitting on a hill", Lotus says. “Some people love it, some people hate it. Some people would go on dates there and some people would burn love letters in the fire."

Ahead of the release, Flying Lotus has directed a new music video alongside David Firth for the album cut 'Fire Is Coming' which features the famous American filmmaker and musician, David Lynch.

Along with the new album announcement, Flying Lotus has shared the news that he will be touring North America, Europe and Japan this Fall.

Check out the music video for 'Fire Is Coming' below along with the forthcoming album's artwork and tracklist.

Cameron is Mixmag's Jr. Editor. Follow him on Twitter

[Photo: Renata Raksha]

Read this next!

Flying Lotus to score new Netflix anime series 'Yasuke'
Brainfeeder announces massive 10-year anniversary compilation
Flying Lotus graffiti stunt hints that "fire is coming"


1. Heroes
2. Post Requisite
3. Heroes In A Half Shell
4. More feat. Anderson .Paak
5. Capillaries
6. Burning Down The House feat. George Clinton
7. Spontaneous feat. Little Dragon
8. Takashi
9. Pilgrim Side Eye
10. All Spies
11. Yellow Belly feat. Tierra Whack
12. Black Balloons Reprise feat. Denzel Curry
13. Fire Is Coming feat. David Lynch
14. Inside Your Home
15. Actually Virtual feat. Shabazz Palaces
16. Andromeda
17. Remind U
18. Say Something
19. Debbie Is Depressed
20. Find Your Own Way Home
21. The Climb feat. Thundercat
22. Pygmy
23. 9 Carrots feat. Toro y Moi
24. FF4
25. Land Of Honey feat. Solange
26. Thank U Malcolm
27. Hot Oct.

Load the next article