Tame Impala and Diana Ross have collaborated for the upcoming Minions 2 soundtrack - News - Mixmag
Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

Tame Impala and Diana Ross have collaborated for the upcoming Minions 2 soundtrack

Further contributions Thundercat, Caroline Polachek, Brockhampton, Kali Uchis and more

  • Aneesa Ahmed
  • 9 May 2022
Tame Impala and Diana Ross have collaborated for the upcoming Minions 2 soundtrack

Collaborative music from Tame Impala and Diana Ross for the new Minions 2: Rise of Gru movie is coming out soon.

Diana Ross shared a snippet of the new track 'Turn Up The Sunshine', which features Tame Impala, which will be featured in the new kids' movie.

They will be joined alongside the likes of St. Vincent, Thundercat, Brockhampton, Caroline Polachek, Phoebe Bridgers and Kali Uchis - many of whom will be taking on covers of iconic 70s tracks.

St. Vincent covers Lipps Inc.'s "Funkytown", Phoebe Bridgers covers "Goodbye to Love", Caroline Polachek covers "Bang Bang", and Kali Uchis' covers bossa nova staple "Desafinado."

Read this next: 23 dance music books you definitely need to read

Earlier this week, posters teasing a collaboration between Diana Ross, Tame Impala and producer Jack Antonoff were spotted around London.

In 2021, People reported that Jack Antonoff would be responsible for a “1970s-inspired” soundtrack for the upcoming Minions film sequel Minions: The Rise Of Gru.

The poster is very 70s-inspired and has lots of colourful cartoon imagery alongside the slew of A-list names, and a small cartoon 'Minion' from the Despicable Me movie franchise is visible in the poster next to Diana Ross' name.

Read this next: 9 photos capturing the essence of New York's disco era

Jack Antonoff also worked on Diana Ross' comeback album 'Thank You' which was released last year.

This film appears to follow Gru, the main character of the series, as a child in the '70s.

Check out the snippet from Tame Impala and Diana Ross' track 'Turn Up The Sunshine' below.

Full tracklist of the upcoming Minions: The Rise of Gru soundtrack can be seen here:

01 Diana Ross: “Turn Up The Sunshine” [ft. Tame Impala]

02 Brittany Howard: “Shining Star” [ft. Verdine White] (Earth, Wind & Fire)

03 St. Vincent: “Funkytown” (Lipps Inc.)

04 Brockhampton: “Hollywood Swinging” (Kool & the Gang)

05 Kali Uchis: “Desafinado” (Stan Getz & Joao Gilberto)

06 Caroline Polachek: “Bang Bang” (Nancy Sinatra)

07 Thundercat: “Fly Like an Eagle” (Steve Miller Band)

08 Phoebe Bridgers: “Goodbye to Love” (The Carpenters)

09 Bleachers: “Instant Karma!” (John Lennon)

10 Weyes Blood: “You’re No Good” (Linda Ronstadt)

11 Gary Clark Jr.: “Vehicle” (The Ides of March)

12 H.E.R.: “Dance to the Music” (Sly and the Family Stone)

13 Tierra Whack: “Black Magic Woman” (Santana)

14 Verdine White: “Cool”

15 Jackson Wang: “Born to Be Alive” (Patrick Hernandez)

16 The Minions: “Cecilia” (Simon & Garfunkel)

17 G.E.M.: “Bang Bang” (Nancy Sinatra)

18 RZA: “Kung Fu Suite”

19 Heitor Pereira: “Minions: The Rise of Gru Score Suite”

Read this next: These cocaine adverts from the 70s are outrageous

Aneesa Ahmed is Mixmag's Digital Intern, follow her on Twitter

Load the next article