Metronomy have dropped a garage remix of Sugababes’ ‘Overload’ - News - Mixmag
Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

Metronomy have dropped a garage remix of Sugababes’ ‘Overload’

The track will feature on the girl group’s debut album rework

  • Gemma Ross
  • 29 July 2021
Metronomy have dropped a garage remix of Sugababes’ ‘Overload’

A garage infused remix of Suagababes’ classic ‘Overload’ has dropped from British electronic pop group Metronomy.

Teaming up with the girl group, Metronomy remixed the classic track for Sugababes forthcoming rework album, which remixes all tracks from their debut ‘One Touch’ for its 20th anniversary.

The new take on ‘Overload’ spins the early 00's pop track into a dancefloor banger with re-pitched vocals and syncopated beats.

Read this next: 16 of the best uplifting vocal garage tracks

“It was like it was written for us, a real 60’s girl band moment, unlike anything we’d performed before,” said Sugababes’ Siobhan Donaghy on the remix. “It was important for us to have them on this journey and to see them revisit ‘Overload’ makes it extra special!

“We’re so grateful Metronomy agreed to make a remix for us as part of our 20th anniversary. Performing their ‘Love Letters’ track with them all at the NME Awards in 2014 was a special moment.”

The 20th-anniversary rework record will also feature a remix of the girl group’s ‘Run For Cover’ from MNEK, and will later see Blood Orange feature on the album.

‘One Touch’ originally came out when the trio were 15 and 16, receiving critical acclaim worldwide."

“Overload is such a brilliant pop song. I was captivated by it when it was released and remember rushing out to buy the single,” said Metronomy’s Joe Mount.

Read this next: Metronomy's Joe Mount and Róisín Murphy talk house music, touring and experimentalism

“I owe a lot to the Sugababes in terms of how my view of pop music changed from Overload onwards, I know that thousands of producers and artists alike had a similar experience. It would be impossible to top the original.”

The expanded reissue comes out on October 1, dropping on limited edition tricolour and coloured vinyl.

Check out the tracklist and listen to 'Overload (Metronomy vs Tatyana remix) below.

‘One Touch’ Tracklist:

V1 - Remastered Album and Bonus Tracks
1. Overload
2. One Foot In
3. Same Old Story
4. Just Let It Go
5. Look at Me
6. Soul Sound
7. One Touch
8. Lush Life
9. Real Thing
10. New Year
11. Promises
12. Run for Cover + bonus tracks
13. Don’t Wanna Wait
14. Sugababes on the Run
15. Forever
16. Little Lady Love [Original Mix]
17. Sometimes
18. This Is What You Need [Demo]
19. Girls’ Nite Out [Demo]

V2 Remixes and Alternative Versions
1. Always Be the One [Demo]
2. Run for Cover [MNEK Remix]
3. Overload [Majestic Remix]
4. Same Old Story [Blood Orange Remix]
5. Overload [Metronomy vs Tatyana Remix]
6. Just Let It Go [2001 Version]
7. Look at Me [Alternative Mix]
8. Real Thing [Original Mix]
9. Soul Sound [Alternative Version]
10. One Touch [C.R.E.A.M. Remix]
11. New Year [Non Christmas Version] [a.k.a. 2001 Edit]
12. Promises [Acoustic Mix]
13. Little Lady Love [About 2 Remix]
14. Overload [Ed Case Remix]
15. Run for Cover [G4orce All Things Nice Dub]
16. Real Thing [2-Step Radio Mix]

Tracklisting Vinyl:
A1. Overload
A2. One Foot In
A3. Same Old Story
A4. Just Let It Go
A5. Look at Me
A6. Soul Sound
B1. One Touch
B2. Lush Life
B3. Real Thing
B4. New Year
B5. Promises
B6. Run for Cover

Gemma Ross is Mixmag's Digital Intern, follow her on Twitter

Load the next article