Metallica enlist J Balvin, The Neptunes and Chase & Status for 53-track covers album - News - Mixmag
Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

Metallica enlist J Balvin, The Neptunes and Chase & Status for 53-track covers album

Other artists covering their favourite songs from ‘The Black Album’ include Rina Sawayama, Phoebe Bridgers and Moses Sumney

  • Words: Tope Olufemi | Photo: Herring & Herring
  • 23 June 2021
Metallica enlist J Balvin, The Neptunes and Chase & Status for 53-track covers album

‘The Metallica Blacklist’, a 53-track cover album, is being released to coincide with Metallica’s reissue of their self-titled 1991 album (AKA The Black Album) in September.

The album features covers from various artists, including Mac DeMarco, Chase & Status feat. Backroad Gee, Phoebe Bridgers, SebastiAn, Rina Sawayama, Moses Sumney, IDLES, The Neptunes, St. Vincent and a host of others covering their favourite tracks from The Black Album.

Read this next: Foo Fighters rebrand as disco cover band The Dee Gees for new album

St Vincent covers 'Sad But True' while 'The Unforgiven' is covered by Flatbush Zombies and Moses Sumney. 'Wherever I May Roam' is taken over by J Balvin and The Neptunes.

The reissue of The Black Album is set to be released on September 10 via Blackened Recordings, with a deluxe boxset containing the 2xLP, three live LPs, 14 CDs, a hardcover book.

Read this next: Kraftwerk finally inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame after six denials

The album supports a number of charities, including Metallica's charitable foundation, All Within My Hands.

The release notes state: "Much more than a mere tribute, The Metallica Blacklist offers up new dimensions of the record whose gravitational pull first drew the mainstream to Metallica in 1991—and provides new insights into the universal and timeless appeal that kept it there: the boundary-smashing influence these 12 songs have had on fans and musicians of all stripes. Blacklist’s 53 tracks find singer songwriters, country artists, electronic and hip hop artists sharing their love of these songs alongside punk rockers, indie darlings, icons of rock, metal, world music and many, many more…"

Read this next: DJ Bus Replacement Service smashes all preconceptions of what a DJ should be

You can find the full tracklist below and on Metallica’s website. Watch the trailer for ‘The Metallica Blacklist’ below.

Tope Olufemi is Mixmag’s Digital Intern, follow them on Twitter

1. Enter Sandman – Alessia Cara & The Warning
2. Enter Sandman – Mac DeMarco
3. Enter Sandman – Ghost
4. Enter Sandman – Juanes
5. Enter Sandman – Rina Sawayama0
6. Enter Sandman – Weezer
7. Sad But True (Live) – Sam Fender
8. Sad But True – Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
9. Sad But True – Mexican Institute of Sound feat. La Perla & Gera MX
10. Sad But True – Royal Blood
11. Sad But True – St. Vincent
12. Sad But True – White Reaper
13. Sad But True – YB
14. Holier Than Thou – Biffy Clyro
15. Holier Than Thou – The Chats
16. Holier Than Thou – OFF!
17. Holier Than Thou – PUP
18. Holier Than Thou – Corey Taylor
19. The Unforgiven – Cage The Elephant
20. The Unforgiven – Vishal Dadlani, DIVINE, Shor Police
21. The Unforgiven – Diet Cig
22. The Unforgiven – Flatbush Zombies feat. DJ Scratch
23. The Unforgiven – Ha*Ash
24. The Unforgiven - José Madero
25. The Unforgiven – Moses Sumney
26. Wherever I May Roam – J Balvin
27. Wherever I May Roam – Chase & Status feat. BackRoad Gee
28. Wherever I May Roam – The Neptunes
29. Wherever I May Roam – Jon Pardi
30. Don’t Tread on Else Matters - SebastiAn
31. Don’t Tread on Me – Portugal. The Man
32. Don’t Tread on Me – Volbeat
33. Through the Never – The HU
34. Through the Never - Tomi Owó
35. Nothing Else Matters – Phoebe Bridgers
36. Nothing Else Matters – Miley Cyrus feat. WATT, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo, Chad Smith
37. Nothing Else Matters - Dave Gahan
38. Nothing Else Matters – Mickey Guyton
39. Nothing Else Matters – DermotKennedy
40. Nothing Else Matters – Mon Laferte
41. Nothing Else Matters – Igor Levit
42. Nothing Else Matters – My Morning Jacket
43. Nothing Else Matters – PG Roxette
44. Nothing Else Matters – Darius Rucker
45. Nothing Else Matters – Chris Stapleton
46. Nothing Else Matters – TRESOR
47. Of Wolf and Man – Goodnight, Texas
48. The God That Failed – IDLES
49. The God That Failed – Imelda May
50. My Friend of Misery – Cherry Glazerr
51. My Friend of Misery – Izïa
52. My Friend of Misery – Kamasi Washington
53. The Struggle Within – Rodrigo y Gabriela

Load the next article