​Arca announces new album 'KiCK ii' - News - Mixmag
Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

​Arca announces new album 'KiCK ii'

‘Born Yesterday' ft. Sia, is the first track from the new album

  • Gemma Ross | Photo: Unax LaFuente
  • 5 October 2021
​Arca announces new album 'KiCK ii'

Venezuelan-born, Barcelona-based multimedia artist Arca has announced the release of her anticipated sequential record, ‘KiCK ii’.

The record follows 2020 released ‘KiCK i’ which bagged a Grammy award nomination shortly after its release, with a name alluding to the promise of a second part.

‘KiCK ii’ is set for release on December 3 via XL Recordings, with a new single from the forthcoming record featuring Sia out now. ‘Born Yesterday’ dropped on Monday, October 4 — alongside an ethereal video in true Arca style.

Read this next: Calvin Klein's new LGBTQIA+ campaign features Honey Dijon and Arca

‘Born Yesterday’ traverses a darker side of pop, with Sia’s vocals melding with Arca’s across a gritty, raw three-minute track.

The singer, composer, DJ, producer, and artist is set to release ‘KiCK ii’ as a follow-up in the KiCK series - an anthology of records collecting all of the musician’s recent works.

‘KiCK ii’ will feature collaborations from Cardopusher, Boys Noize, Mica Levi, Jenius Level, Wondagurl, Cubeatz and Sia.

Just a year on from her last album, the Venezuelan multimedia artist - real name Alejandra Ghersi Rodriguez - has amassed critical acclaim worldwide, working with names like Lady Gaga, FKA Twigs, Frank Ocean, and Kanye on previous projects.

Read this next: Nile Rogers, Flying Lotus, SHYGIRL and more pay tribute to SOPHIE

‘KiCK ii’ will drop on December 3, marking the seventh studio alum from the singer and DJ. Check out the new visual for ‘Born Yesterday’ below along with the tracklist, and pre-order ‘KiCK ii’ here.

‘KiCK ii’ Tracklist:

1. Doña
2. Prada
3. Rakata
4. Tiro
5. Luna Llena
6. Lethargy
7. Araña
8. Femme
9. Muñecas
10. Confianza
11. Born Yesterday ft. Sia
12. Andro

Gemma Ross is Mixmag's Digital Intern, follow her on Twitter

Load the next article