Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

object blue announces new audio-visual EP 'Grotto'

‘Grotto’ will be released on TT label where object blue first debuted in 2018

  • Words: Jemima Skala | Photo: Natalia Podgórska
  • 14 February 2021
object blue announces new audio-visual EP 'Grotto'

object blue has announced a new audio-visual EP ‘Grotto’, which will be released on TT label on March 5.

object blue released her debut EP ‘Do you plan to end a siege?’ on TT label back in 2018.

The EP release will be accompanied by a live show creatively directed by object blue and her wife Natalia Podgórska.

Read this next: Intense and cathartic: how object blue’s creative fixation ignites her groundbreaking music

The first single, ‘Opened Close’, was also released this week. It’s a dramatic, declarative single that bends and stretches time and melodic space to its own dimensions.

Speaking on ‘Grotto’, object blue has said, “‘Grotto’ is a stage. It’s not a soundtrack to an existing play, but whilst creating it I was thinking about the space we move in, the characters we play, the dialogues that happen. ‘Grotto’ is a bit like if ‘King Lear’ had been a millennial soap opera with a happy ending; it’s me sublimating my difficult relationship with the home. I could only envision ‘Procession of Healers’ because I survived this weird drama and I can look at it from a distance, as I am happy now. I come to this theme time and time again, but especially now because we’ve all been quarantined in our homes, and we’ve experienced the erosion of spacial boundary in our lives.”

Listen to ‘Opened Close’, watch a trailer for 'Grotto' and check out the full ‘Grotto’ tracklist below.


  1. Opened Close
  2. Fugitive’s Flourish
  3. Exorcism of a Self-help Book
  4. Procession Of Healers
  5. Closed Open

Jemima Skala is Mixmag’s Weekend Editor. Follow her on Twitter

Read this next: Get the best of Mixmag direct to your Facebook DMs

Load the next article