M83 shares the first single from his new album 'Junk' - News - Mixmag
Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

M83 shares the first single from his new album 'Junk'

He also reveals artwork and the track list for his seventh LP

  • Mixmag Staff
  • 1 March 2016

With a tour already announced, M83 has unveiled the title, album art and first single from his seventh album. 'Junk', set to release on April 8, will be the follow-up to his 2011 effort, 'Hurry Up, We're Dreaming'.

The album artwork for 'Junk' is eccentric, to say the least, slightly reminiscent of The Muppets gone wrong. Despite how flippant the artwork may be, Anthony Gonzalez seems to have invested in the title as a social commentary of sorts, explaining that 'Junk' was taken from the idea that everything will eventually become "space junk", largely in part to the rapid way in which people consume art and music.

He explained: "Anything we create today is going to end up being space junk at one point anyway, and I find it really fascinating and scary at the same time - beautiful too in a way. I have this image of pieces of humanity floating in space, lost forever. It also means that nowadays everything goes so fast and everybody is kind of throwing away art in a certain manner.

"People will listen to an album for instance and just pick a track they like to put on a playlist. They're not going to take the time to listen to an album anymore because they have to jump on the next thing."

In addition, he's released the first single from 'Junk', 'Do It, Try It', which can be heard below via Annie Mac on her BBC Radio 1 show.

See the album artwork and tracklist for 'Junk' below.

1. Do It, Try It
2. Go!
3. Walkway Blues
4. Bibi the Dog
5. Moon Crystal
6. For the Kids
7. Solitude
8. The Wizard
9. Laser Gun
10. Road Blaster
11. Tension
12. Atlantique Sud
13. Time Wind
14. Ludivine
15. Sunday Night 1987

[Via: Pitchfork]

Load the next article