Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

Daft Punk, Swedish House Mafia, Nina Kraviz and more receive an orchestral remake

Classic dance tracks to be performed by 85 live musicians

  • Sydney Megan Jow
  • 23 June 2016

Musical dreams do come true.

Swedish composer Hans Ek has revealed he will be translating some of the world's most seminal electronic songs into a 17-track orchestral compilation.

The collection will be aptly named 'Dance Music Symphony' and feature breathtaking productions that range from Deadmau5's 'Strobe' and Faithless' 'Insomnia' to Daft Punk's 'Aerodynamic' and Martin Garrix's 'Animals' and much more.

'Dance Music Symphony' will make its debut at this July's Bråvalla Festival in Sweden and be performed by the world renowned, 85-member Norrköping orchestra.

See the full track list below.

01 Swedish House Mafia: “Greyhound”
02 Ten Walls: “Walking with Elephants”
03 Massive Attack: “Unfinished Sympathy”
04 The Knife: “Silent Shout”
05 Faithless: “Insomnia”
06 The Chemical Brothers: “Galvanize”
07 Ellen Allien & Apparat: “Retina”
08 Skrillex: “First of the Year (Equinox)”
09 Nina Kraviz: “Walking in the Night”
10 Aphex Twin: “#3”
11 Deadmau5: “Strobe”
12 Martin Garrix: “Animals”
13 Calvin Harris, Alesso, Hurts: “Under Control”
14 Avicii: “Levels”
15 Underworld: “Born Slippy (Nuxx)”
16 Energy 52: “Cafe Del Mar”
17 Daft Punk: “Aerodynamic”

Sydney is Mixmag's US Digital Content Editor. Follow her on Twitter here

Load the next article