Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

Technimatic’s Pete Rogers to release debut solo album as Wardown

The 10-track album arrives on Blu Mar Ten Music this week

  • Patrick Hinton
  • 4 November 2020
Technimatic’s Pete Rogers to release debut solo album as Wardown

Pete Rogers, one half of drum ‘n’ bass duo Technimatic, is releasing a solo album under the moniker Wardown via Blu Mar Ten Music on November 6.

The 10-track LP is described as “an account of physical, temporal, familial, musical and sentimental dislocation”, taking inspiration from his childhood, hometown of Luton, lost family members, the German concept of ‘sehnsucht’ (described by C. S. Lewis as “an inconsolable longing in the heart for we know not what”), and more.

Read this next: How young artists are transforming drum 'n' bass

Speaking about the release, Rogers said: “A few years ago I learned about the German word ‘Sehnsucht' ... that chimes very well with the feelings I have for my home town. It’s not just the simple nostalgia of childhood. There is something else intangible still pulling me back. So this is an album about memory, loss, being unmoored from ‘home’, and the longing for a time and place that is always just out of reach, and may well only exist hidden tantalisingly round the corners of my mind."

Pre-order ‘Wardown’ via Bandcamp. Check out the tracklist and premiere of album opener ‘Culverhouse’ below.

1. Culverhouse
2. Rapture
3. The Flower Gardens
4. Sehnsucht
5. Ferric
6. Selective Memory
7. Lorem Ipsum
8. Susurration
9. Thanks For Coming
10. Today Goodbye

Patrick Hinton is Mixmag's Digital Features Editor, follow him on Twitter

Read this next: Get the best of Mixmag direct to your Facebook DMs

Load the next article