Pan Daijing announces debut album ‘Lack 惊蛰’ on PAN - News - Mixmag
Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

Pan Daijing announces debut album ‘Lack 惊蛰’ on PAN

It lands next month

  • Words: Patrick Hinton | Photo: Ralf Marsault
  • 28 June 2017

Pan Daijing has revealed her debut album ‘Lack 惊蛰’ will come out via PAN on July 28.

The experimental Chinese artist has spent the past two years putting together the LP, which is composed largely of concert and field recordings taken from performances and travels across Europe, China and Canada. It tells the story of the world as a perception of “the theatre of our minds”.

Speaking about the album, Pan Daijing said: “When I was finalising this album, they didn’t feel like tracks to me anymore, but more like a psychoanalytical process. I saw myself being this absurd, mad person ‘acting’ out the sounds… It’s rather physical, and became like a mindgame. All things came out naturally as part of me.”

Stream ‘Plate of Order’ below and pre-order the record via Bandcamp.

01. Phenomenon
02. A Loving Tongue
03. Practice of Hygiene
04. Plate of Order
05. Act of The Empress
06. Come to Sit, Come to Refuse, Come to Surround
07. Eat
08. The Nerve Meter
09. A Situation of Meat
10. Lucid Morto

Patrick Hinton is Mixmag's Digital Staff Writer, follow him on Twitter

Load the next article