Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

​Octo Octa reveals new LP on Honey Soundsystem Records

The producer’s new album 'Where Are We Going?' drops March 24

  • Jaguar Bingham
  • 17 February 2017
​Octo Octa reveals new LP on Honey Soundsystem Records

Octo Octa, aka Maya Bouldry-Morrison, has announced the release of her second album via US label Honey Soundsystem Records.

'Where Are We Going?' is the second album from the producer, exploring the emotions felt after coming out as transgender and transitioning to female in the public eye.

On the final track of the album, Maya repeats the line “Do you feel better?”, which she revealed was the question people asked her after coming out.

She said: “Overall I do feel better, but no, I don’t feel better at every moment, which is why the track slips out with a dour bass drone in addition to a beautiful pad. These days, both emotions are ever-present for me.”

The LP features nine four-to-the-floor house and techno tracks that show a more intimate side to Octo Octa and a vinyl sampler will be available March 10 and the full LP is out digitally from March 24.

You can pre-order 'Where Are We Going?' here and listen to ‘Move On (Let Go) (De-Stress Mix)’ below.

01. Where Are We Going? Pt. 1
02. On Your Lips
03. Fleeting Moments Of Freedom (Wooo)
04. Until The Moon Sets
05. No More Pain (Promises To A Younger Self)
06. Move On (Let Go) (De-Stress Mix)
07. Preperation Rituals
08. Adrift
09. Where Are We Going? Pt. 2

Jaguar is Mixmag's Weekend Editor. Follow her here

Load the next article