LUXE drops debut record via HAAi’s Radical New Theory, ‘Belonging’ - News - Mixmag
Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

LUXE drops debut record via HAAi’s Radical New Theory, ‘Belonging’

The four-track EP marks the producer’s first full-length release

  • Gemma Ross
  • 4 February 2022
LUXE drops debut record via HAAi’s Radical New Theory, ‘Belonging’

DJ, producer and classical composer LUXE - real name Lucy Hopson - has joined HAAi and Alice Pelly’s Radical New Theory imprint with her debut record, ‘Belonging’.

The four-track EP traverses breakbeat, progressive house, and psytrance drawing on influence from her early beginnings as a classical composer, and now more recently breakthrough electronic artist.

‘Belonging’, LUXE’s first full-length project, drops today via Mixmag cover star HAAi and Alice Pelly’s record label, celebrating the best up-and-coming talent. “We’re so excited to announce our next release on Radical New Theory from none other than LUXE,” they said on the EP.

Read this next: Opening up: HAAi is exiting lockdown with an assured vision and daring debut album

“Her debut EP ‘Belonging’ caught our attention a few months ago and we haven’t stopped playing it since. It’s been amazing having already had support from 6music with several plays of A83 from Mary Anne Hobbs over the last week,” they added.

LUXE first emerged through the dance music collective and event series B.L.O.O.M., and was quickly picked up as a breakthrough artist after the release of her jungle-inspired B-side ‘Falcon’s Rise’.

Since then, LUXE has been tapped by Guava, Asquith, Frazer Ray, Ell Murphy, and more to join on mixes across the likes of Rinse FM and Balamii.

Read this next: Breaka gears up to release debut LP 'We Move'

With a sprinkling of heavier UK bass tracks from dubstep, breaks, and more experimental sounds, the producer’s first EP sets LUXE on a path to more audacious releases.

“LUXE’s first release on RNT is off to a flying start and we’re so excited for what the future holds for her,” said HAAi and Alice Pelly.

Listen to LUXE’s debut EP ‘Belonging’ and find the tracklist below.


1. May I Help You
2. A83
3. Everything Must Fade
4. Belonging

Gemma Ross is Mixmag's Digital Intern, follow her on Twitter

Load the next article