Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

Jeff Mills launches Axis Audiophile Series label offshoot

Two releases are on the way, including a new full-length from the Detroit pioneer

  • Patrick Hinton
  • 5 April 2016

Jeff Mills’ Axis Records imprint has announced plans for a new high-quality vinyl endeavour titled Axis Audiophile Series.

Two releases have been lined up so far, the first being a live recording of the ‘Kobe Session’ Mills performed alongside his electronic-jazz fusion quartet Jino Ohno Mitchell Mills at the Japanese city’s Today’s Art Festival last September, which is due out in May.

June will see the arrival of a new 13-track solo LP from Mills named ‘Free Fall Galaxy’, which has been described as capturing "the triangular pursuit of a prey that falls victim to its attacker" by Axis Records. It marks the ninth chapter of his science-fiction story ‘Sleeper Wakes’, that has previously included albums such as ‘The Jungle Planet’ and ‘Emerging Crystal Universe’.

Each release will be “mastered for high-fidelity sounds” and pressed to 180-gram vinyl at 32-bit/48kHz for an exceptionally crisp aural experience.

Check out the tracklists for the first two Axis Audiophile Series outings below.

‘Kobe Session’
A1 Eventide
A2 Introductions (MC/translator: Masaaki Ishizaki)
B Happy Gamma Ray

‘Free Fall Galaxy’
01. Medians
02. The Hunter
03. Gravitational Lensing
04. Inner Synthesis
05. Solar Crossroads
06. Transformation In the Virgo Constellation
07. The Hunted
08. Rabid Star Clusters
09. Tri-angularism
10. Spectroscopic
11. Entering (The Free Fall Galaxy)
12. Irreversible Elliptic Orbits
13. Aurora

[Via: RA]

Patrick Hinton is Mixmag’s Digital Intern, follow him on Twitter

Load the next article