Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

FKA Twigs, Flying Lotus, Jungle and Skepta win AIM Awards

Ninja Tune also pick up an award for label innovation

  • Patrick Hinton
  • 9 September 2015

The Association of Independent Music marked the achievements of the UK's thriving independent scene last night at their fifth annual awards ceremony.

FKA Twigs' picked up the Independent Track of the Year prize for 'Two Weeks'.

Flying Lotus was recognised for his talent in combining audio and visual production, picking up the Independent Video of the Year award.

Noel Gallagher made a surprise appearance to bestow the award for Most Played New Independent Act upon Jungle.

Label heads from Ninja Tune took home the Innovator Award, celebrating their 25 years of forward-thinking work in the industry.

Boy Better Know founder Skepta won the acclaimed Outstanding Contribution to Music award for his active role in progressing the UK Grime scene. The ceremony was then fittingly closed out with a performance by Stormzy, an artist signifying the influence of Skepta.

The full list of winners can be viewed below.

Best Small Label (in association with Disc Manufacturing Services): Erased Tape Records

Best Difficult Second Album (in association with XFM): Young Fathers - 'White Men Are Black Men Too'

Special Catalogue Release of the Year (in association with Amazon Music): Cities of Darkscorch Boardgame

Hardest Working Band or Artist: Swans

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (in association with AIF, voted for by readers of DIY): Brainchild Festival

Independent Breakthrough of the Year: Wolf Alice

Indie Champion (in association with CI): Marc Riley, BBC 6 Music

Independent Video of the Year (in association with Vevo): Flying Lotus - 'Never Catch Me'

Best Live Act (in association with Jack Daniel's, voted for by visitors to Songkick): All Time Low

Independent Track of the Year (in association with Spotify): FKA Twigs - 'Two Weeks'

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act: Jungle

Independent Album of the Year (in association with dotFans): Enter Shikari - 'The Mindsweep'

Independent Label of the Year (in association with Believe Digital): Transgressive Records

Pioneer Award (in association with The Orchard): Digby Pearson, Earache Records

Innovator Award (in association with Promostream): Peter Quicke, Matt Black and Jonathan More of Ninja Tune

Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with Merlin): Skepta

Load the next article