​Ellen Allien teases forthcoming LP ‘Nost’ - News - Mixmag
Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

​Ellen Allien teases forthcoming LP ‘Nost’

It's out May 12 via her BPitch label

  • Jaguar
  • 25 March 2017

Ellen Allien has announced that her new album ‘Nost’ will be dropping on May 12 on her BPitch imprint.

The title ‘Nost’ is drawn from the word ‘nostalgia’, as each track pays homage to her 25-year long career as a DJ, and it is also her first LP made for the club since she put out ‘Dust’ in 2010.

Containing nine tracks, the album begins with the warped vocal lures of ‘Mind Journey’ and also features ‘Innocence’, which captures the energy of a dark Berlin dancefloor, and ‘Call Me’ which is enthused with a classic Chicago vibe.

‘Nost’ is the seventh album to come from the Berlin-born producer, and it is described as “the work of an artist who has deep knowing; knowing of one’s self, knowing of where she’s coming from and knowing of where she’s going."

The LP also distorts and layers her own vocals throughout the album in true Ellen Allien style.

You can check out the tracklist and hear snippets of ‘Nost’ below.

1. Mind Journey
2. Innocence
3. Jack My Ass
4. Call Me
5. Electric Eye
6. Mma
7. Physical
8. Stormy Memories
9. Erdmond

Jaguar is Mixmag's Weekend Editor. Follow her here

Load the next article