The Cover Mix: Lotic - News - Mixmag

The Cover Mix: Lotic

From Black Panther to Björk, Lotic talks you through your exclusive cover mix

  • Mixmag crew
  • 11 June 2015

1. Lotic ‘Top Off (Tryna Party With A Queen edit) (unreleased)

“I know y’all tired of me doing Beyoncé edits, and I swear this is the last. I relate very closely!”

2. Lotic ‘Black Panther Meditation’ (unreleased)

“This vocalisation in the film is super specific, but I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it ever since. And it has a bit of a Lotic feel to it, so I thought I’d write an accompaniment!”

3. Lotic ‘Flourish’ (unreleased)

“A B-side from 'Power'. I had to write a track about feeling yourself a little bit too much; flourishing. This samples my favourite Vine (RIP): “You turnt! Stop!”

4. Lotic ‘Burn A Print’ (Deconstructed) (Tri Angle)

“This is a vinyl-only track, but I wanted to give you all a taste anyway: may every step you take burn your print into earth”

5. Lotic ‘Heterocetera’ (Heavy version) (unreleased)

“I wanted to make a more dramatic version that was suitable to my more live sets, and this flex dance-inspired moment provided the key”

6. Björk ‘Notget’ (Lotic’s From Death version) (One Little Indian)

“The other remix of this track, which is vinyl-only. I felt the ‘Keptsafe’ version I did was more the sorrow side of the song, whereas this was more the healing and reclamation side. I didn’t feel like I could have both on one version, so I made two!”

7. ‘Reset’ (excerpt) (unreleased)

“From my collaboration with my dear friend Roderick George, this features Lotic ‘Introspection’ and Lotic ‘Confidence’”

8. ‘Fleshless Beast’ (excerpt)

Another collaboration with Roderick, which features, along with my live DJing,
the following tracks:

Angel X ‘Thunder Work’ (unreleased); Armand van Helden ‘Witch Doktor’ (Dark Ages mix) (Strictly Rhythm); Acre ‘Physically’ (Lost Codes); Bloom ‘Cold Grip’ (Crazylegs) Soulja Boy & Nicki Minaj ‘Yasss Bitch’ (Byrell The Great Jersey vogue remix); (Qween Beat); Dick Van Dick ‘On Loop’ (unreleased); Anti-G ‘The Fucking Error!!!!!!!’ (Planet Mu); DJ Jayhood ‘Slow Down’ (Thread); Matrixxman ‘Credentials’ (Myler remix) (Fifth Wall Records);

9. Lotic ‘Shorn’ (unreleased)

“One of my favourite B-sides from ‘Agitations’. I was sure it would end up on the album, but it still hasn’t found a home... until now!”

Next Page
Newsletter 2

Mixmag will use the information you provide to send you the Mixmag newsletter using Mailchimp as our marketing platform. You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us. By clicking sign me up you agree that we may process your information in accordance with our privacy policy. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.